Long Overdue Hall

This month’s class to be inducted into the second class of the Montana Football Hall of Fame is dominated by former Grizzlies.

And with suggested criteria including an extended professional career in addition to either playing a year at a Montana college or two years at a state high school, with the success at the University of Montana I guess that should come as no surprise.

But a star studded field of honorees pretty much has ensured the Billings affair to be a sell-out when imo continues

After an initial induction of 13 by decade at last season this year’s class features a field of 11, including eight Grizzlies.

A selection committee considers recommendations of players, coaches and contributors with an eye to accomplishments and contributions in addition to what they accomplished on the field.

This season induction will include posthumous awards to legend UM player “Wild Bill” Kelly, to be presented by exploit expert Bob Townsley, and the legendary Naseby Rhinehart, recognized by Dennis Murphy.

UM folks also to be honored are include former Athletic Director Harley Lewis and former players Tim Hauck, Kirk Scrafford, Mike Tilleman, Bob O’Billovich and Aldo Forte.

They join last year’s UM representatives Dave Dickenson, Pat Donovan, Tuff Harris, Brian Salonen and Bill Lazetich.

Bill Kollar, Dwan Edwards and Dennis Erickson round out this year’s selections.

Lewis is recognized for not only heading up the construction of Washington Grizzly Stadium and the hiring of Don Read in addition to several basketball coaches including Robin Selvig, Mike Montgomery, Stew Morrill and Blaine Taylor.

A multi-sport UM star, O’Billovich just wrapped up a 50-year career in a plethora of positions in the Canadian Football League which included a Grey Cup championship as a coach with Toronto in 1983. The Argos hadn’t won the chipper in 30 years.

A member of the Grizzly Sports Hall of Fame “Obie,” a Butte native, was a CFL all Star in 1965 when he led the circuit with a record number of interceptions and also was named to the CFL Hall of Fame.

Named as Montana’s Athlete of the Decade (60-70), Obie was All-Skyline Conference in three sports and also lettered a season in track.

Hauck was one of the first of Montana prep players who walked on, became All-League and enjoyed a stellar professional career.

Nicknamed “hitter” because of his furious tackling, he currently coaches with Philadelphia.

More on the other honorees during the week for the banquet March 25.


You May Also Like

More From Author