More Hall of Fame

The prestigious second class of the Montana Football Hall of Fame anxiously awaits a couple of weeks before their induction.

Of fitting inclusion are the posthumous recognition of legendary athlete and athletic trainer Naseby Rhinehart and equally legendary athlete a different spectrum of infamy in “Wild Bill” Kelly.

After a superb high school career in Chicago “Nase” journeyed to Missoula as the school’s second black player and after a stellar career influenced a wide spectrum of not only players but a community by the person he was.

One of only 15 players to have been known to have earned nine letters (1932-34) at the Missoula school which at that time was competing in the tough Pacific Coast Conference.

Named by Sports Editor Ray Rocene to the all-time Griz team and nominated for the Sports Illustrated Silver Anniversary team, “Nase” started one of the first collegiate athletic training curriculums in the country. The facility in the Adams Center bears his name.

Selected as trainer for the 1972 Olympic track team, it 1967 he was named to the Helms Hall of Fame for Athletic Trainers.

Hundreds of athletic trainers have provided a wealth of knowledge to athletes after completing the UM program.

The reputation of “Wild Bill” Kelly may have been as wide and notorious off the field as it was on but suffice it to say few UM players received more national acclaim.

An All-PCC Conference selection in three consecutive seasons (1923-26) Kelly also was named to the Walter Camp third team and after the ’26 season was named to the roster of the prestigious East-West game in San Francisco.

He completed a scoring pass to teammate Russ Sweet to tie the contest then kicked the winning PAT.

In a abbreviated pro career for Brooklyn, he accumulated 325 yards in a single game, scored a quartet of TDs and registered a dozen in the season besides being a furious defender.

He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1969.

The UM remainders of this year’s class includes Tim Hauck, Kirk Scrafford, Harley Lewis, Bob O’Billovich, Mike Tiileman and Aldo Forte.

The remainder of this year’s class includes Dennis Erickson, Dwon Edwards and Bill Kollar.

They join last year’s class including Brian Salonen, Dave Dickenson, Pat Donovan, Tuff Harris and Bill Lazetich.

The induction dinner is March 25 in Billings.


You May Also Like

More From Author